The Fluther Blog

Back to Fluther

What is Fluther?

Fluther is a free Q&A collective that specializes in getting
fast answers from the right people. Check it out!

Meet the Mods: Part II

5:12 am

Welcome to Part II of an ongoing series. This week, we introduce you to KatawaGrey and shrubbery. Thanks again for all you do, mods!

In case you missed it, you can catch Part I here.

____________________________________________________________

KatawaGrey

Kate is a 22 year old student who frequently sports very colorful hair. She shares her name with many of her cousins, has a boyfriend of two and a half years, and our fellow jelly, JilltheTooth, is her mama.

Favorite Quote: “We’re grown-ups now.  It’s our turn to decide what that means.” -xkcd

Pets: One Puli named Zup. No, he is not a dog. He is a Puli. They are an entirely different species.

Education: I am the not-so-proud owner of a high school diploma. I am almost the not-so-proud owner of a college diploma.

Hobbies and Interests: I play Magic the Gathering and pretty much any other card game if someone puts a deck in my hands. I also write whenever I get the chance (which is not often, unfortunately). I read like a fiend. I love Steampunk and sci-fi and fantasy and have LARPed exactly once in my life. If you want to know more, please PM me! I love chatting about my interests and the interests of all you fine Fluther folk.

Day job: Mall retail.

Dream job: Believe it or not, I really like retail work. What I really want to do is work retail and then write the rest of the time.

____________________________________________________________

shrubbery

Alison is the mod from the land down under. She currently lives with her parents in Tasmania, Australia. (It’s that little heart shaped island down at the bottom.) She’ll soon move to Melbourne, mainland Australia, where she’ll be living with her sister while attending university.

Favorite quote: “Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?” – JK Rowling, via Dumbledore.

Pets: I have two cats. One is called Tattiana (but only when she’s in trouble, it’s usually just Tatty) and she is a Russian Blue. She definitely descended from the cats worshiped as Gods in ancient Egypt. The other is called Maggie, and she’s a black and white moggie. She thinks she’s a dog.

Education: I’ll be starting a Bachelor of Aerospace Engineering at Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology in March.

Hobbies and Interests: I love reading, a lot. It took me a long time to choose a quote for this. I went through all my favourite (< that’s Australian for ‘favorite’) books and authors and poets, but I kept coming back to that one. I guess you could just lump “Harry Potter” in as a hobby/interest, too! I love sports, but haven’t had much chance to play since I left school. I will try to pick up rowing, lacrosse and netball again in Melbourne. I will also have more opportunity to see the bands I love, live, which is always good fun.

Dream job: I want to be an astronaut and go into space. So, you know, a fairly easy dream to achieve.

Why do you volunteer your time to Fluther?: I volunteer time to Fluther when I can because of the opportunities Fluther has given me. I’m so grateful to have somewhere to spew my thoughts and questions and learn so much from other people. I’m also very very grateful for the friends I have made here. I know I am not, and never will be, the most active moderator, but no matter what I’m doing ( school, working) I always try to devote some of my spare time to try to make Fluther for other people what it is for me.

Is there anything else you’d like the community to know about you?: I have an addiction… to the beach!

____________________________________________________________

Please join us next time for installment three. See you then!