The Fluther Blog

Back to Fluther

What is Fluther?

Fluther is a free Q&A collective that specializes in getting
fast answers from the right people. Check it out!

Meet the Mods: Part IV

4:18 am

Welcome to Part IV of our ongoing series. This week, we introduce you to SuperMouse and Allie. Thanks again for all you do, mods!

In case you missed them, be sure to check out parts one, two and three.

______________________________________________________

SuperMouse

Juli is a 45 year old California native now living in the mid-western cornfields with her three sons, her soon-to-be husband (they’re getting married next week!), and their dog Jack the Pug.

Favorite quote: “As ye have faith so shall your powers and blessings be. This is the balance — this is the balance — this is the balance.” – Abdul Baha

Day job: I am a full time student and have a part time job working at the library at the campus where I go to school.

Education/Dream Job: I am finishing my bachelors in education with endorsements in secondary (7th to 12th grade) special education and library media. My ultimate goal is to either teach middle school students with behavioral disorders or work in the library in a school specifically for students who are incarcerated or have been kicked out of mainstream schools. If that doesn’t work out, I’ll settle for being an Oscar winning screenwriter.

Hobbies/Interests: I don’t have time for any hobbies, but if I have spare time I love to read. My favorite book of all time is Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry.

Why do you volunteer your time to Fluther?: I volunteer my time to Fluther because I love the site. It has been my addiction since my sister gimmedat brought me here a couple of years ago. My first question was very intense and personal and I got nothing but heartfelt, well thought out responses that really made me think and got me on the road to solving my issue. From that point I was hooked! I have appreciated the work the mods do keeping the site consistent and once I’d been around for a couple of years and knew the ropes at least a bit, I let Lisa know that if a spot came up I would be interested in it. The opportunity came up, I took it, and I love being a part of the mod team.

Is there anything else you’d like the community to know about you?: There is nothing I love more then when someone asks a controversial question and the Collective comes out to give thoughtful responses and can carry on a civil and interesting debate that can really help the OP, and maybe even make others think differently about a certain subject. I also love to be able to ask questions that provoke great discussion! Of all the questions I have ever asked though, my very favorite is “If you were my keys where would you be?”. The answers made me laugh then and I love that it is still getting responses after all this time. I never have found those keys!
My proudest Fluther achievement to date is the fact that “Tell us something great that happened to you today” – a question I posted way back when (on the day I got my jelly t-shirt!) is, the last time I checked, up to part 12!

______________________________________________________

Allie

Allie is a 23 year old living in northern California. She has a strange fixation on the name “Rufus”. We love her for that.

Pets: Cattle dog, Bleu; Cattle dog/Border Collie: Angus; Tortie cat: Sophie; Black cat: Midnight

Education: I’m a 2010 graduate from UC Davis with a BA, and I’m currently applying to grad schools.

Hobbies/Interests: Reading, going out with friends, sleeping, technology, traveling, flying saucers and skipping Triton rocks.

Day job: ‘Administration’

Dream job: Professor

Why do you volunteer your time to Fluther?: I help out at Fluther because I… I work for the FBI and I’m composing top secret files on all of you. Ok, no. Honestly? I’m secretly (though not so secretly, anymore) from Neptune and the Neptunian president sent me here on a super-secret-stealthy mission to gather information about your people. A fine question and answer site such as this seemed like a good place to observe and collect data.

Is there anything else you’d like the community to know about you?: Some random facts: I’m an only child. I’ve traveled in seven countries, and I’m nowhere near done traveling yet. I’m a huge klutz, meaning I fall, trip, run into things, and break/fracture bones more often than most people. Lastly, I’m not really from Neptune. Sorry.

____________________________________________________________

Please join us next time for installment five. See you then!