The Fluther Blog

Back to Fluther

What is Fluther?

Fluther is a free Q&A collective that specializes in getting
fast answers from the right people. Check it out!

Meet the Mods: Part V

6:13 am

Welcome to Part V of our ongoing series. This week, we introduce you to EmpressPixie and Dog. Thanks again for all you do, mods!

In case you missed them, be sure to check out parts one, two, three and four.

______________________________________________________

EmpressPixie

Kimberly is a 25 year old grad student at Carnegie Mellon University. She’ll be graduating this May with her MBA. She used to have a lot of  hair, but she recently cut most of it off. It’s red, which is, of course, awesome.

Family Status: I’m engaged to Qingu (which means that I sit out moderating anything related to him). Fluther was actually one of the first places to know when we got engaged, because we were in Australia and no one else was awake in the USA when in happened.

Pets: Qingu has an incredibly furry cat named Willow.  Willow is a boy-cat. When I move in the spring/summer, I’m going to get a girl-kitten. I’m very excited about this!

Hobbies/Interests: Fluther. BPAL and the related forum, knitting, spinning (yarn, not the exercise thing), photography, bad television, bad movies, urban fantasy, geocaching, cooking (though Qingu is a better cook than I am), writing — I actually met Qingu through NaNoWriMo.

Dream job: A job that I look forward to doing every day with co-workers I like, a good boss, and a company I’m proud to be a part of.

Why do you volunteer your time to Fluther?: I don’t as much as I used to, which is kind of sad, but it turns out that graduate programs eat a lot of your time. I originally volunteered with Fluther because Fluther asked me to — I was helping out with the Wis.dm move as a community member at the time and Andrew PMed me to see if I wanted to be a mod. I said yes — I love the community and people here and wanted to be a part of helping it grow and continue to be one of the best places on the Internet.

Is there anything else you’d like the community to know about you?: I’m kind of ambitious in a slightly odd way:  I just assume that I can do more or less whatever I want to do.  Qingu says this means I am adventurous.  For example, this autumn I decided to make a corset and that worked out extremely well (I hadn’t really done much sewing before that). But a while back I decided to haul three tons of gravel from a gravel place to my sister’s house and we had to stop after only one because, well, it was raining and the gravel shovelers tried to rebel and the tailgate on the truck broke and it just didn’t really work out. Qingu points out that the gravel thing wasn’t an adventure for me because he gave me a horrible virus two days before that left me incapable of doing more than driving. However, he doesn’t realize that I’d never driven a truck before – much less a truck full of gravel. I think he just wants credit for shoveling half a ton of gravel out of the back of a truck. He’d get more credit if they hadn’t broken the tailgate. Apparently, he’s not totally satisfied with how I’m telling this story, but I really can’t imagine why not.

______________________________________________________

Dog

Stella is passionate about animal rescue and lives in sunny southern California with her husband, their four children, and a plethora of pets. She is currently taking a break from moderation, but we hope she’ll come back as soon as she can. We miss you, Stella!

Favorite quote: “Nothing truly worth having ever comes easy.”

Pets: Lucy, who looks like a Dalmatian dog but acts like a cat (from rescue). Bob, Hermit crab- a refugee from the 2007 California wildfires who had no home to return to and stayed. Rose and Agatha, my studio rabbits who were abandoned behind a pet store in a cardboard box. We recently lost Butch, our beloved old Yellow Labrador, who we adopted from the city pound.

Education: BA in Biomedical Illustration. I was going into medicine, shooting toward becoming a Veterinarian, but that became impractical when we found out we were having twins.

Hobbies/Interests: Longboard surfing, antiques, history, art, science, animal rescue, nature, and people watching.

Day job: I’m an artist, selling original art. My work is also sold on puzzles, wall decor and other products.

Dream job: I am in it!

Why do you volunteer your time to Fluther?: When I first found Fluther, the maturity level of the members and how sharing the community was impressed me. It is the only place I have ever seen on the internet where an interesting question can be asked and logical, educated answers are given. I had learned so much from Fluther and it was a free site, so I tossed my name in the volunteer hat. I love helping Jellies as a form of giving back.

Is there anything else you’d like the community to know about you?: I have worked
extensively in wildlife rehab and abhor any form of cruelty to animals. I helped spearhead
the building of a no-kill animal shelter and work to support animals in need.

Racism and people who do not respect the beliefs or non-beliefs of others make me twitch.

____________________________________________________________

Please join us next time for installment six. See you then!