The Fluther Blog

Back to Fluther

What is Fluther?

Fluther is a free Q&A collective that specializes in getting
fast answers from the right people. Check it out!

Meet the Mods: Part VIII

6:59 am

Welcome to Part VIII of our ongoing series. This week, we introduce you to the two most recent additions to the mod team, Seaofclouds and Bellatrix. Thanks again for all you do, mods!

 

 

 

In case you missed them, be sure to check out parts one, two, three, four, fivesix and seven.

 

______________________________________________________

Seaofclouds

Stacey is 30 years old and leads a busy life in Pennsylvania with her husband and their two boys, an almost 10 year old and an almost 6 month old. We will have to speculate on how almost-old her husband is. ~

Favorite quote: “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” – Les Brown

Education: I received a diploma in nursing in 2006, which allowed me to become a LPN. In 2007, I received my ADN and became a RN. In 2010, I completed my BSN.

Hobbies/Interests: I love reading and spend a lot of my free time doing just that. I also love playing games of all sorts. My husband and I are participating in a table top D & D campaign right now. We also play numerous board and card games when we can. We actually met at a game weekend, so I guess it’s a pretty big thing for us!

Day job: I am a registered nurse at a long term acute care facility. I’m also a preceptor there (which means I train/orient the new staff, in addition to my normal work.)

Dream job: I would love to work on a pediatric oncology unit, preferably at a hospital like St. Jude, CHOP (Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia), or Johns Hopkins Children’s Center.

Why do you volunteer your time to Fluther?: I volunteer because I love helping people and I have come to value what Fluther has to offer everyone. I joined Fluther while my husband was deployed overseas, and I found so much support and encouragement from fellow jellies during that time. I only hope I can help others the way I’ve been helped so far. I also love the quality aspect of Fluther when compared to other Q&A sites and look forward to helping keep Fluther from going downhill as some other Q&A sites have.

Is there anything else you’d like the community to know about you?: Hmm. I feel like I’ve shared so much over the time I’ve been here. I love how many celebrations we’ve shared. Fluther was the first to know when I got pregnant with my youngest, because we wanted to wait a bit before we told family. Fluther celebrated with me when my husband came home from a year in Iraq. I was posting about the birth of my youngest the day he was born! So, I guess what I’m getting at, is Fluther is like a family to me. We’ve shared so much with each other, and although we remain mostly anonymous, I know there are people out there that truly care. I hope they know the same about me.

______________________________________________________

Bellatrix

Bella is our second mod from the land down under. She lives in a house surrounded by trees in Brisbane, Australia, along with her beautiful, intelligent and funny husband and three wonderful children who keep her on her toes and learning. She hopes she’s in the middle of her life, with a lot of the journey left to go.

Favorite quote: I have to pick one? I don’t think I can. I try to live by…

“If you want your life to be a magnificent story, then begin by realizing that you are the author and every day you have the opportunity to write a new page.” – Mark Houlahan

and definitely…

“Most people I know think that I’m crazy…” – Billy Thorpe

However, tomorrow it could be something completely different, since “When you’re finished changing, you’re finished.” – Benjamin Franklin

Pets: Two mad schnauzers, one cat with an over inflated ego, one bold, blue and beautiful betta fish. We call them Siamese Fighting Fish here, and his name is Genghis or G3.

Education: Formal education – I have my PhD. Informal education – I learn something new every day.

Hobbies/Interests: I love to write, but consider myself to be wearing training wheels. I write in my work setting every day, but I have this burning urge to write a novel. I am also a student of photography. An informal student. I take photos when I can. I want to take more. I like to draw and paint, but rarely get any time to do that these days. I love films, music, reading and travel. I want to go everywhere! I like gardening, but am not good at it. I like to cook, as long as it is something new.

Day job: I am an academic.

Dream job: I am one of those lucky people who have their dream job!

Why do you volunteer your time to Fluther?: I genuinely care about the Fluther community. I believe there are some amazing people here, and I enjoy the time I spend reading their thoughts. Like all communities though, we need people to help keep the peace, to pick up the mess and put away the toys. At times, I have expressed my frustration with some of our less splendid moments, and I believe if you are going to criticise, you should be prepared to ‘put your money where your mouth is’, or in this case, spend some time hopefully mentoring new jellies while keeping the spammers and those who upset our pool at bay. Spam sandwich, anyone?

Is there anything else you’d like the community to know about you?: I am a pretty open book. If you have more questions about me, feel free to ask. My message box is always open to you.

______________________________________________________

 

Thanks, mods, for helping us get to know all of you a little better!